Skip to content

EFL League One teams guide 23/24

The English Football League One, also known as Sky Bet League One for sponsorship purposes, is the second-highest division of the English Football League and the third tier overall in the English football league system. It is contested by 24 clubs, with each club playing the others twice, once at home and once away, for a total of 46 games. The top two teams at the end of the season are automatically promoted to the Championship, while the teams finishing third to sixth enter a play-off competition for the third promotion place. The bottom four teams are relegated to League Two.

EFL League One was introduced in the 2004–05 season as a rebrand of the former Football League Second Division, which itself was a rebrand of the now-defunct Football League Third Division before the 1992 launch of the Premier League. The division has been won by 13 different clubs, with Sunderland being the most successful team, having won the title three times.

In recent years, EFL League One has become increasingly competitive, with a number of clubs challenging for promotion. In the 2015–16 season, for example, there were six teams within three points of the top two places with just four games remaining. This increased competition has made the division more exciting for fans and has also helped to raise the profile of the clubs involved.

EFL League One is a popular division with fans, with average attendances of over 10,000 per game. The division is also home to a number of clubs with a rich history, such as Sunderland, Ipswich Town, and Charlton Athletic. This makes EFL League One an attractive proposition for players, who are able to compete at a high level while also playing for clubs with a large fan base.

EFL League One is a competitive and exciting division that is home to a number of clubs with a rich history. The division is popular with fans and players alike, and it is sure to continue to grow in stature in the years to come.

Full list of EFL League One teams for the 23/24 season