Skip to content

National League guide 23/24

About The National League (Formerly Known as the “Football Conference League”)

The EFL National League, also known as the Vanarama National League for sponsorship reasons, is the fifth tier of the English football league system, below the Premier League and the three divisions of the English Football League. It is the top tier of the National League System of non-League football.

The National League was formed in 1979 as the Alliance Premier League, and was renamed the Football Conference in 1986. It was renamed the National League in 2015.

The National League consists of 24 teams, who play each other home and away over the course of a season. The team with the most points at the end of the season is crowned champion and promoted to League Two. The teams from second to seventh place compete in a play-off tournament, with the winner also being promoted to League Two.

The bottom four teams in the National League are relegated to the National League North or National League South, the two divisions below the National League.

The National League is a popular league, with many clubs having large and passionate fanbases. Some of the biggest clubs in the National League include Dorking, Ebbsfleet and Southend United.

The National League is a great place to watch exciting and competitive football. It is also a great place to see the next generation of English football stars, as many young players start their careers in the National League.

Full list of Vanarama National League teams for the 23/24 season