Skip to content

Republic Of Ireland football grounds guides for the 23/24 season

Irish football leagues

The Republic of Ireland football league system currently consists of 12 levels. The top two levels are the League of Ireland Premier Division and the League of Ireland First Division. These leagues are both national leagues and are collectively known as the League of Ireland. The third level currently consists of three provincial leagues – the Leinster Senior League Senior Division, the Munster Senior League Senior Premier Division and the Ulster Senior League Senior Division.

The fourth level consists of a number of regional leagues, including the Dublin Senior League, the Carlow and District League, and the Louth and District League. The fifth level consists of even more regional leagues, and the levels below that become increasingly localized.

There are also a number of women’s football leagues in the Republic of Ireland. The top level is the Women’s National League, which is a national league with 10 teams. The second level is the Women’s Premier Division, which is a regional league with 10 teams.