Skip to content

League of Ireland Premier Division teams guide 23/24

The League of Ireland Premier Division (also known as the SSE Airtricity League Premier Division for sponsorship reasons) is the top level division in both the League of Ireland and the Republic of Ireland football league system. The division was formed in 1985 following a reorganisation of the League of Ireland. St Patrick’s Athletic and Bohemians are the only current League of Ireland clubs never to have been relegated from the Premier Division.

The current season, the 2023 season, is the 38th season of the League of Ireland Premier Division. The season began on February 18, 2023, and will end on October 28, 2023. The defending champions are Shamrock Rovers, who won their 19th title in the 2022 season.

The League of Ireland Premier Division is a very competitive league, with the title often being decided on the final day of the season. In recent years, Shamrock Rovers, Dundalk, and Bohemians have been the most successful teams, but there are a number of other teams who are capable of challenging for the title.

The League of Ireland Premier Division is a popular league, with an average attendance of around 2,000 per match. The league is also broadcast live on television in Ireland and the United Kingdom.

If you are interested in watching League of Ireland Premier Division matches, you can find live streams on the SSE Airtricity League website or on the BBC iPlayer. You can also follow the league on social media, such as Twitter and Facebook.

Full list of League Of Ireland Premier Division teams for the 23/24 season