Skip to content

Wales football grounds guides for the 23/24 season

Welsh football leagues

The Welsh football league system is a series of interconnected leagues for men’s football clubs in Wales. The top league is the Cymru Premier, which is followed by the Cymru North and Cymru South. There are then four regional leagues at tier 4, followed by a further eight leagues at tier 5. The lowest tier is the tier 8 leagues, which are county leagues.

Here is a list of the Welsh football leagues, from top to bottom:

  • Cymru Premier (Tier 1)
  • Cymru North (Tier 2)
  • Cymru South (Tier 2)
  • Ardal Leagues (Tier 3)
    • Cymru Alliance (Tier 3)
    • Cymru Championship (Tier 3)
  • Welsh Football League (Tier 4)
    • Division One
    • Division Two
    • Division Three
  • Area leagues (Tier 5)
    • Central Wales League
    • North East Wales Football League
    • North Wales Coast East Football League
    • North Wales Coast West Football League
    • Gwent County League
    • West Wales Premier League
    • South Wales Alliance League
  • County leagues (Tier 6-8)

There are also a number of cup competitions in Wales, including the Welsh Cup, the League Cup, and the FAW Trophy.

The Welsh football league system is administered by the Football Association of Wales (FAW). The FAW is responsible for setting the rules and regulations for the leagues, as well as overseeing the promotion and relegation process.

The Welsh football league system is a vibrant and competitive one, with clubs from all over Wales competing at all levels. The leagues provide a great opportunity for players to develop their skills and progress to the highest levels of the game.